Final Reflection

m3da82bd51b3e792719f26339ae35f799

(Future Children School, 2016).

The digital word has shown me extensive possibilities for learning and skill development that I have utilised as a digital immigrant to create my blog (Howell, 2012). This journey has highlighted how determined I am to become more digitally fluent and grow with confidence through hands on experiences within the digital world (Howell, 2012).

My experience with WordPress had a bumpy start and I had to watch a few Youtube “how to” videos to further develop my understanding. Initially, I accidently published my blog as public and that did upset my confidence as I wasn’t ready to share my work with the wider global community (Howell, 2012).  Through using WordPress, I have successfully created my own digital artefact and have strengthened my digital fluency (Howell, 2012). I can appreciate how platforms such as WordPress can be an interactive learning opportunity for homework or discussions.

I looked at Voki for the auditory component but I wanted to have a visual background to link with the audio. Moovly gave me the platform I was seeking. I found this program really easy to use and simply followed the help tips that popped up on the screen. I have successfully used a combination of multimedia forms to present my work (Howell, 2012).

Sway has given me an opportunity to engage in creative activities that I feel will result in the active participation of my audience (Howell, 2012). I found this platform immensely enjoyable and found it hard to end my presentation as I just wanted to continually add more information for my global audience (Howell, 2012).

Throughout my work on my blog, it has emphasised the importance of having a digital pedagogy within the classroom environment and that as a pre-service teacher I should engage in a wide range of digital technologies and seek out their educational applications to build my knowledge (Howell, 2012). This will ensure that the digital divide between myself and my students will be minimal and we can explore and appreciate the digital world together and enjoy the benefits of being life-long learners (Howell, 2012).

26168a958ca67aabbe1f9086b48eb065

(Pinterest, n.d.).

References:

Future Children School. (2016). Reflections [Image]. Retrieved from http://futurechildrenschool.com/index.php/publicar-noticias/375-june-1st-16-reflections

Howell, J. (2012). Teaching with ICT: Digital Pedagogies for Collaboration and Creativity. South Melbourne: Oxford University Press.

Pinterest. (n.d.). Unique Teaching Resources [Image]. Retrieved from http://www.pinterest.com/pin/304415256035415200/

 

Leave a Reply

